Girls Can! (feminism + marketing = magic)

The end of the Olympics has brought us the debut of a new Cover Girl Campaign sporting the simple hashtag #girlscan , and right off the bat I’m hooked:

I love Ellen. And I love Pink. And whoever that hockey player is. And especially especially I love Queen Latifah. (U-N-I-T-Y YOU GOTTA LET ‘EM KNOW!)

dumbledoredancingGIF

Oh! And I love that Sofia is speaking Spanish. Effing wonderful. Ok, but I get that not everyone will be amped about this. Corporations using this kind of marketing can feel disingenuous. And maybe it always will be a little bit, because they are still selling mascara. And it’s true that every woman in that video looks pretty flawless. But I still think this is a step up from silent models that function only as an image (an image meant to inspire insecurity and lead to purchases.) At least these women are speaking, and talking about facets of themselves that have nothing to do with beauty (at least not aesthetic perfection for perfection’s sake.) And to be fair, these ladies all are talented and have pretty iconic, off beat style. It’s not like they are all twiggy blondes (not that twiggy blondes are bad I happen to kinda like them but variety is the spice of life and variety in our beauty standards is also vitally important the the mental health and self-esteem of women everywhere.) And feminism going mainstream does have an upside. It means corporations are feeling the tides turning, and they get that this is what their consumers want (there is also a downside because voices with a lot of money then get to decide what is and isn’t on the agenda and that can skew the topics deemed ‘feminist’ and limit participation in the movement and marginalize some women and their concerns… but I’d prefer to save that discussion for later because sometimes I like to feel hopeful.)

Here are more wonderful gifs of these ladies being awesome. Girls hearing positive messages = good and for now, I’m gonna go with that. Dance how you want, play how you want, laugh how you want and do you. I think any act that boosts the self-image (and not just the beauty image, but their image of themselves as more than ‘pretty’) of any girl anywhere is one of the most positive things a person or persons can do. It’s an uphill battle with long reaching implications, and we should all be passionately involved in this endeavor.

cracks. me. up.
cracks. me. up.
she really does care about her fans, check her documentary 'Part of Me'
she really does care about her fans, check her documentary ‘Part of Me
i hear her live shows are bananas. that's cray.
her live shows are bananas. that’s making me dizzy just watching!.
killin it on Modern Family
killin it on Modern Family
yea you do! werk!
yea you do! werk!
i love when she raps. i love when she sings.
i love when she raps. i love when she sings.

I’ll give the final optimistic declaration to another dope chick:

yes.
yes.
What do YOU think?!

